# Hertfordshire Association of School Governors Annual General Meeting

### Minutes of Meeting Held at Hertfordshire Development Centre, Robertson House Stevenage on

## Saturday 16<sup>th</sup> November 2019 in the Oak Room

#### 1) Welcome and apologies

Michael Taylor welcomed everyone to the AGM. Apologies were received from Andrew Boakes, Fikile Mykoyana and Joy Ferguson is advance.

- 2) Notification of any Conflicts of Interest on agenda items None
- **3) To review & approve the minutes of the last AGM 17<sup>th</sup> November 2018.** The minutes were approved.
- 4) Matters arising from the minutes None

#### 5) HASG Chair's report

A comprehensive written report was circulated prior to the AGM and was available as paper copy.

There were no questions from the floor.

Michael Taylor once again thanked Mick Water for his opening keynote.

Michael Taylor added that 2018/2019 had seen the HASG continue to work closely with and support the Governance team at HfL, in particular in putting on the Governor's annual conference. He also that once again the HASG had a successful year with the Outstanding Governors Awards and encouraged people to nominate.

#### Question: how do we find out about the Outstanding Governors Awards?

James Brown (JB) explained that nominations open late December/early January. The nomination form is available on the HASG website. Details are also emailed to all admin@ email addresses for wider circulation.

Robert Smith (RS) explained that there is not set criteria and each nomination is taken on its own merits.

#### 6) HASG Treasurer's Report for Year to 31<sup>st</sup> March 2019

A copy of the HASG Income & Expenditure report for the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2019 had been circulated to members schools 21 days before the meeting and a copy will be made available after the meeting on the HASG website.

Macdonald Frederick (MF) took this opportunity to made comments on his notes:

There has been a change in how the subscriptions are collected via HfL, which shows the income for Academies subscriptions for 2018/2019 for 17 months.

#### Question - why have the meeting costs reduced so much?

MF explained that we think it was due to that we now used a free venue for Committee Meetings. [Further research after the meeting indicated that the real answer is that in previous years there have been considerable costs of production of materials for meetings e.g. the AGM – no such costs occurred in 2018-2019]

RS gave an explanation as to the conference contribution. The increase of the HASG subscription back in 2017/2018 enabled the HASG to hugely contribute to the Annual Governors Conference which meant it would continue to be held. In 2017/2018 the HASG contributed £10,000 to the conference. For 2018/2019 it was agreed that they would contribute 50% of the conference costs, with HfL covering the other 50%.

#### Question – what does the forum & briefing cost cover?

It was explained that the HASG fully fund the twilight session of the Heads & Governors briefing once per term. It is usually held at the Beales Hotel in Hatfield and is the same briefing content that Headteachers attend.

#### 7) To approve the HASG subscription for the year 2019-2020

The HASG executive proposed that the subscription for 2018-2019 to remain at £85.00.

The subscription fee will in particular help the HASG

- Fund the annual conference together with HfL
- Hold regular briefings
- Run the Governor Awards

The proposed subscription fee was approved.

#### 8) To approve amended HASG Constitution: Version 6

JB gave a brief update as to why the constitution has changed. It was explained that revisions focused on academies and in particularly on clarifying that membership of HASG is by School, even in the case of Multi Academy Trusts.

#### 9) To elect the Officers of the HASG

The only nominations for Officers received prior to the meeting were:

Chair – Michael Taylor Vice Chair – Robert Smith Secretary – James Brown Treasurer – Macdonald Frederick

All of the above were elected unopposed.

#### 10)To elect the other Executive Committee members of the HASG:

The following nominations have been received:

- 1. Joy Ferguson
- 2. Fikile Mkoyana
- 3. Wayne Morris
- 4. Andrew Boakes

Michael Taylor asked that if anyone would be interested in being a member of the Executive Committee that they approach Claire Lanni with their contact details.

#### 11)To consider any other business

None