Mutual Support
By Governors for Governors
By Governors for Governors
By Governors for Governors

HASG Sponsors the Outstanding Governors Awards

The closing date for nominations for their Governor Award scheme is 31st May 2022.

Nominate somebody here.


Herts for LearningNominations Now Open for Herts for Learning non-exec directors

HfL have commenced an election process to recruit 3 x primary phase and 1 x special phase non-exec directors onto the HfL Board.  Details of this process are given below:

Election process for Herts for Learning non-executive directors

The Herts for Learning (HfL) Board includes six elected school non-executive directors who take up post for a term of three years. In November 2020, there will be Continue reading

AGM Revises Constitution – 16th November 2019

The HASG AGM took place as usual at the Governors Annual Conference where, as well as regular items, the Constitution was also presented.  The regular agenda items appeared including a Chairs Report, Treasurer’s Report and the election of the Association’s Officers and Continue reading

Minutes of AGM – 17th November 2018

As usual our AGM took place during the Annual Hertfordshire Governors’ Conference at Robertson House on 17th November 2018.  As required by our constitution Chairs of member schools had been notified and circulated with the relevant papers 21 days beforehand.
The Chair’s report and the Treasurer’s report were presented and the subscription level for 2019-2020 was approved (unchanged)

Continue reading

Minutes of AGM – 11th November 2017

Our AGM took place on 11th November 2017 during the Annual Hertfordshire Governor’s Conference at Robertson House. As required by our constitution chairs of member schools had been notified and circulated with the relevant papers 21 days beforehand.

The HASG chair Paul Rosen presented a report on Continue reading

herts-county-councilHASG Manages Governor Elections to Schools Forum and ICT Working Partnership Group

The Hertfordshire Association of School Governors was asked recently to help Hertfordshire County Council by organising elections to two key Committees.

The first election, between all Hertfordshire Schools was for appointment to the statutory Schools Forum.  There were three vacancies arising at the beginning of 2015 as a result of terms of office of current members expiring.   The following were elected:

  • Carole Connelly of Sarrett Primary School;
  • Don Leavy of Hertford St Andrews Primary School; and
  • Jackie Webby from Ashlyns Secondary School, Berkhamsted

For more information about the Schools Forum in Hertfordshire see

The second election, between HASG Member schools, was to elect a Governor to the ICT Partnership Working Group.  Originally one vacancy was arising as a result of the current incumbent standing down.  HASG recommended that the number of Governors should be increased to two to ensure a better balance of representation between Primary and Secondary Schools.  This was agreed.

The two candidates elected were:

  • Karl Newstead of Camps Hill Community Primary and Marriotts Secondary at Stevenage; and
  • Geoff Strack of St Nicholas Primary Elstree and Parkside Primary Borehamwood

Further details of the ICT Group can be found here:

HASG wishes them all every success in their new roles.