Mutual Support
By Governors for Governors
By Governors for Governors
By Governors for Governors

HASG Sponsors the Outstanding Governors Awards

The closing date for nominations for their Governor Award scheme is 31st May 2022.

Nominate somebody here.

Outstanding Governors Awards 2019

As usual, the Winners of the Hertfordshire Outstanding Governor Awards were presented at the Governors Annual Conference – this year on Saturday 16th November 2019 at Robertson House Stevenage. Because of the strength of the field this year the Awards committee agreed an additional Runner-Up and also an additional Award to a Special School Governor. (Equivalent to Runner-Up).  The Winners’ schools receive a prize of £1,000 and each of the Runners-Up’s schools a prize of 250.


  • Sally Laflin – St John’s C of E Primary School
  • Simon Mundy – Sir John Lawes School


  • Marion Brown – Verulam School
  • Helen Simpson – Bridgewater Primary School
  • Mike Newman – Hunsdon JMI School
  • Gillian Knibbs – The Reddings Primary School
  • Rosemary Charsley – St Mary’s Junior School

Special School

  • Michael Wheeler – Brandles School

Group photo from Awards 2019

The group photo shows (left to right):

  • Michael Taylor – Chair HASG
  • Special-School: Michael Wheeler
  • Runner-Up: Rosemary Charsley
  • Runner- Up: Mike Newman
  • Winner: Simon Mundy
  • Runner- Up: Gillian Knibbs
  • Winner: Sally Laflin
  • Terry Douris – HCC Executive Member, Education
  • Andrew de Csilléry – Managing Director HfL

The two individual photos show the other two Runners-Up: Helen Simpson & Marion Brown

Helen Simpson           Marion Brown

Nomination Statements

You can read their original nomination statements in the following document: