Outstanding Governors 2018

Outstanding Governors 2018

The Winners of the 2018 Awards were presented at the Hertfordshire Governors Annual Conference on Saturday 17th November at Robertson House Stevenage.


  • Sandra Barr – Larwood School, which is part of Larwood Academy Trust, Stevenage,
  • Debbie Cole – Howe Dell Primary School, Hatfield.


  • Sharon Robson – St Paul’s Catholic Primary School, Cheshunt,
  • Wendie Ray – Whitehill Junior School, Hitchin,
  • Jenny Howard – Tudor Primary, Hemel Hempstead,
  • Paul Quinn – St Catherine of Siena Catholic Primary School, Watford.

The photo shows:

  • Front left to right:
    • Andrew de Csilléry – Managing  Director HfL,
    • Runner-up: Sharon Robson,
    • Runner-up: Wendie Ray,
    • Winner: Sandra Barr,
    • Winner: Debbie Cole,
    • Runner-up:  Jenny Howard – represented here by fellow governor Pauline Chalmers,
    • Runner-up:  Paul Quinn – represented here by fellow governor Mike Pargeter,
    • Michael Taylor – Chair HASG.
  • Back left to right:
    • Rachel Mcfarlane Director of Education Services HfL,
    • Catherine Tallis – Director HfL.

The Winners’ schools receive a prize of £1,000 and each of the Runners-Up schools a prize of £250.

Nomination Statements

You can read their nominations statements in the following document: